ASN Foundation’s funding initiative to support underrepresented groups in our field 

In 2021, the ASN Foundation partnered with ASN’s Minority and Diversity Affairs Committee (MDAC) to launch a fundraising initiative to advance and support diversity, equity and inclusion in nutrition. Through support from generous Founding Donors to the ASN Foundation’s Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Campaign, as well as ongoing annual contributions from members and stakeholders throughout the nutrition science and practice community, we are making a difference.  

Over the past two years, contributions to the ASN Foundation have made the following possible: 

  • More than 70 registration waivers to ASN’s annual meeting, NUTRITION; 
  •  55 registration scholarships to attend NUTRITION; 
  • 100+ NUTRITION abstract submission fee waivers; 
  • Launch of a new ASN Foundation Undergraduate Diversity Research Fellowship; 
  • Expansion of the annual ASN Foundation Young Investigators Underrepresented in Nutrition Award Competition 
  • Support of the expansion of and renaming of ASN’s MDAC to the Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Accessibility Committee (IDEA) 
  • And more! 

Join the ASN Foundation in sustaining ongoing programs to support the growth of underrepresented groups and ensure appropriate representation across ASN. 

  • Encouraging research on nutrition health disparities. 
  • Recruiting and increasing underrepresented group membership and participation within ASN and its volunteer leadership structure 
  • Developing opportunities for research advancement and growth in professional practices. 
  • Establishing scholarships, grants, and subsidies to support educational opportunities 
  • and more! 
Donate Now

Diversity is the fundamental strength of our professional society. 

Varied voices and backgrounds are integral to the future of ASN and the field of nutrition. 

According to the National Science Foundation, women, persons with disabilities, and underrepresented minority groups, which include African Americans (or Blacks), American Indians and Alaska Natives, Hispanics (or Latinos), Native Hawaiians and other Pacific Islanders are underrepresented at many career stages in health-related sciences on a national basis.1

Thank you to our Founding Donors 

Every contribution makes an impact toward the success of underrepresented groups in the field of nutrition. 

Leadership Circle – $10,000+ 

Johanna Dwyer 

Council for Responsible Nutrition 

General Mills Bell Institute of Health & Nutrition 

Pacesetter – $5,000+ 

Catherine W. and Dr. Frank Greer Family Foundation 

Catherine Woteki 

Yvonne Maddox/TA Thornton Foundation

Patron – $2,500+ 

John Courtney 

Simin Meydani 

President’s Circle – $1,000+ 

Paul Coates 

Elizabeth Mayer-Davis 

Michael McBurney 

Naima Moustaid-Moussa 

Marian Neuhouser 

Robert Russell 

Harold Sandstead 

April Stull 

Gold Founder – $500+ 

Jamy Ard 

Sharon Donovan 

Michele Forman 

Suzanne Hendrich 

Beate Lloyd 

David Seres 

Douglas Taren 

Andrea Wong 

Silver Founder – $250+ 

Lindsay Allen 

Sarah Ash 

Stephanie Atkinson 

Kathryn Dewey 

Keith Dillon 

Ilene Fennoy 

Dante Preciado 

Kathleen Rasmussen 

Gwen Twillman 

Bronze Founder – $150+ 

Mary Camire 

David Klurfeld 

Felicia Price 

Barbara A Lohse 

Founder – $100+ 

Cora Best 

Adrianne Bendich 

Andrew Brown 

Mary Pat Cornett 

Sheila Fleischhacker 

Janet Grommet 

Van Hubbard 

Mark Kern 

Phil Lofgren 

Sabrina Martinez 

Haile Mehansho 

Indra Mehrotra 

Dawna Mughal 

Nada Porter 

Nancy Rawson 

Barbara Schneeman 

Joanna Skinner 

Marta Van Loan 

Sonia Vega-Lopez 

Connie Weaver 

Ally – $50+ 

Regan Bailey 

Albert Barrocas 

Shirley Blakely 

Robert Carter 

Amy Gavin 

Cynthia Klobodu 

Harriet Kuhnlein 

Sarah McCormack 

Nana Gletsu-Miller 

Purnima Menon 

Habiba Nur 

Diane O’Brien 

Sumira Phatak 

Ryan Singh 

Additional Donors – Up to $50 

Elizabeth Adams 

Roberta Anding 

Martha Belury 

Lauren Dougherty 

Lorena Drago 

Caitlin French 

Caroline Hamatake 

Shirin Hooshmand 

Nancy Howarth 

Sel Hwahng 

Rachel Gilbert 

Elizabeth Katzman 

Laryssa Kaufman 

Kristie Lancaster 

Emily Lanighan 

Roni Neff 

Stephanie Sinnett 

Maret Traber 

Lynn Westine