The nutrition field’s top researchers, clinicians and educators will be recognized at NUTRITION 2023 in Boston, July 22-25, 2023

Rockville, MD (May 9, 2023) – The American Society for Nutrition (ASN) and the ASN Foundation are proud to announce the 2023 recipients of its scientific achievement awards. 

“We continue to be inspired by the achievements of our members. The 2023 ASN award recipients have made outstanding contributions to the field of nutrition research to impact education and practice,” said Martha Belury, PhD, ASN President. “We are thrilled for the opportunity to celebrate this year’s honorees and their accomplishments in-person at the Sheraton Boston this July.” 

“The ASN Foundation’s Scientific Achievement Awards program continues to grow thanks to our generous and dedicated donors and supporters,” said Catherine E. Woteki, PhD, Chair, ASN Foundation Board of Trustees. “We are delighted to honor this esteemed group of leaders at every career stage and their significant contributions to the nutrition community and to better health for all.”

ASN will celebrate the 2023 award winners in Boston, MA, July 22-25 during ASN’s annual flagship meeting, NUTRITION 2023.

Senior Investigator Awards

ASN Nutritional Sciences Award
Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, PhD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Conrad A Elvehjem Award for Public Service in Nutrition
Supported by Mondelēz International
Mary L’Abbe, PhD, CM, University of Toronto, Department of Nutritional Sciences

David Kritchevsky Career Achievement Award
Supported by Mondelēz International
Richard Mattes, MPH, PhD, RD, Purdue University

E. V. McCollum Award
Parul Christian, DrPH, MSc, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

General Mills Bell Institute of Health and Nutrition Innovation Award
Endowed by the General Mills Bell Institute of Health and Nutrition
Alice Ammerman, PhD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Mary Swartz Rose Senior Investigator Award 
Supported by the Council for Responsible Nutrition 
Robert S. Chapkin, PhD, Texas A&M University 

McCormick Science Institute Research Award
Endowed by the McCormick Science Institute
Kristina Petersen, PhD, APD (Australia), Texas Tech University

Osborne and Mendel Award 
Supported by the Institute for the Advancement of Food and Nutrition Sciences (IAFNS)
Tracy Anthony, MS, PhD, Nutrition Sciences Department, Rutgers University 

Robert H Herman Memorial Award
Steven Zeisel, PhD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 

Senior Investigator Lectureships

George Bray Outstanding Scientific Achievements Award in Obesity Research
Endowed by Dr. George A. Bray and his wife, Marilyn M. Bray
Michael D. Jensen, MD, Mayo Clinic
Jean-Pierre Habicht Lifetime Achievements in International Nutrition Award
Supported by donors of the Jean-Pierre Habicht Lifetime Achievement in Global Nutrition Research Award Fund
Nancy Krebs, MD, MS, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

Robert Suskind and Leslie Lewinter-Suskind Pediatric Nutrition Lifetime Achievement Award
Endowed by Dr. Robert Suskind and his wife, Leslie Lewinter-Suskind
Steven Abrams, MD, University of Texas at Austin/Dell Medical School

Senior Investigator Educator & Mentor Awards

ASN Foundation Mentorship Award
Alice Lichtenstein, ScD, Tufts University USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging

 Excellence in Nutrition Education Award
Kevin Schalinske, PhD, Iowa State University

 Roland L Weinsier Award for Excellence in Medical/Dental Nutrition Education
Paula Moynihan, BsC, PhD, Faculty of Health & Medical Sciences/Adelaide Dental School 

Mid-Career Awards

Nevin Scrimshaw Mid-Career Award in Global Nutrition
Supported by the Sight and Life Foundation and contributions from ASN’s Global Nutrition Council members
Sant-Rayn Pasricha, MBBS (Hons), MPH, PhD, FRACP, FRCPA, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Young Investigator Awards

Bio-Serv Award in Experimental Animal Nutrition
Supported by Bio-Serv Inc.
Jennifer Lee, PhD, Tufts University USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging 

E.L.R. Stokstad Award
Endowed by the Stokstad Family
Jason M. Ridlon, PhD, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Mary Swartz Rose Young Investigator Award
Supported by Council for Responsible Nutrition
Amandeep Sandhu, PhD, Illinois Institute of Technology 

Mead Johnson Award
Endowed by Mead Johnson Pediatric Nutrition Institute
Crystal Karakochuk, PhD, University of British Columbia 

National Dairy Council Early Career Investigator Research Award
Endowed by Dairy Management Inc.
Arashdeep Singh, PhD, Monell Chemical Senses Center, University of Pennsylvania 

Norman Kretchmer Memorial Award in Nutrition and Development
Jennifer Savage Williams, PhD, Penn State University

Peter J Reeds Young Investigator Award
Michael MacArthur, PhD, ETH ZURICH, Zurich Switzerland, Department of Health Sciences and Technology

Samuel J. Fomon Young Physician Award
Endowed by Nestlé Nutrition Institute
Koen Huysentruyt, MD, PhD, MSc, University Hospital Brussels, Belgium

Vernon Young International Award for Amino Acid Research
Endowed by Ajinomoto Health & Nutrition North America, Inc.
Gabriella Ten Have, PhD, Texas A&M University

Additional Awards

ASN Industry Recognition Award
Hamed Faridi, MBA, PhD, McCormick Science Institute 

ASN Korean Nutrition Society Award
Mee Young Hong, PhD, RDN, San Diego State University 

ASN Volunteer of the Year Award
Sahar Ajabshir, PhD, MSc, Florida International University

 Milton L. Sunde Award
Endowed by the Sunde Family
Ling Zhao, PhD, Hubei Hongshan Laboratory, College of Animal Science and Technology, Huazhong Agricultural University, Wuhan, Hubei, China 

Scholarships and Fellowships

ASN Predoctoral Fellowship: Mars, Inc. Predoctoral Fellowship
Supported by Mars, Inc.
Kenny Mendoza, BS, MS, Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health, Harvard University 

ASN Predoctoral Fellowship: The Gerber Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship
Endowed by The Gerber Foundation
Samuel Mitchell, BS, Cornell University

 Clinical Nutrition Internship Program
Marisa Langton, Drexel University College of Medicine 

Dennis Bier, MD Young Career Editor for The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition
Cora Best, PhD, MHS, RDN, University of Florida 

Herbalife Nutrition Scholarship
Supported by Herbalife Nutrition
Heather Schier, MS, The Ohio State University

Undergraduate Diversity Research Fellowship
Tiolulope Popoola, University of Georgia

ASN Journal’s Top Reviewers

The Journal of Nutrition 
Harold Furr, PhD, retired, University of Connecticut
Sarah Johnson, PhD, RN, Colorado State University
William Harris, PhD, University of South Dakota
Mona Calvo, PhD, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai – New York City
Daniela Hempel, PhD, University of California Davis

Current Developments in Nutrition 
Di Wu, PhD, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
Julie M. Hess, PhD, USDA-ARS Grand Forks
Patrice Armstrong, PhD, MPH, University of California, David
Lauren O’Connor, PhD, USDA-ARS Beltsville
Seth Armah, PhD, University of North Carolina at Greensboro

American Journal of Clinical Nutrition 
Arpita Mukhopadhyay, PhD, St. John’s Research Institute
Jie Li, PhD, MD, Brown University
Oonagh Markey, PhD, Loughborough University
Inge Tetens, PhD, University of Copenhagen
Andrea Glenn, PhD, RD, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Advances in Nutrition
Susan Fairweather-Tait, DSc, PhD, University of East Anglia
Rebecca Costello, PhD, Center for Magnesium Education & Research
Diana Artene, ND, MNS, PhD private medical practice, Bucharest, Hungary
Alie De Boer, PhD, Maastricht University
David Klurfeld, PhD, Indiana University