ASN’s leadership in nutrition science is exemplified with 90% of the committee made up of ASN members.

Rockville, MD — January 20, 2023  – The American Society for Nutrition (ASN) applauds the selection of 20 highly qualified scientists to serve on the 2025 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee, and is pleased to note that 18 of the 20 appointees are members of ASN. All of the professionals selected bear outstanding credentials in their respective fields and are recognized by their peers for their scientific expertise and service in their professional communities.

The independent advisory committee is formed in advance of development of each new set of Dietary Guidelines for Americans (DGA), released every 5 years. The committee members were appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack and the U.S. Health and Human Services Secretary Xavier Becerra and are tasked to review scientific evidence on topics and questions identified by the departments. Their resulting report, along with public and agency comments, will be returned to the secretaries and will help inform the development of the 2025-2030 DGA. The DGAC report provides the foundation of information that will address the best dietary habits to emphasize prevention of chronic diseases, promotion of good health, and establish nutritional needs for people of all ages and life stages. The Advisory Committee will convene at a public meeting on February 9-10, 2023, to begin their work for the 2025-2030 DGA. 

“We are thrilled to have a Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee for the upcoming 2025-2030 DGA with so many incredible ASN members. Members of ASN come from all over the nutrition science community and represent a wealth of knowledge and backgrounds that will help to best inform the DGA. The appointments are an indication not only of the breadth of expertise of our members, but also the high value of ASN membership to so many nutrition experts.”

Martha A. Belury, PhD, ASN President

ASN is proud to announce the following ASN members selected for the 2025 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee:

  • Steven Abrams, MD, University of Texas at Austin
  • Cheryl Anderson, PhD, MPH, MS, University of California, San Diego
  • Aline Andres, PhD, RD, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Sarah Booth, PhD, Tufts University, current ASN Board member
  • Carol Byrd-Bredbenner, PhD, RD, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
  • Jennifer Orlet Fisher, PhD, Temple University
  • Deanna Hoelscher, PhD, RDN, LD, CNS, FISBNPA, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Valarie Blue Bird Jernigan, DrPH, MPH, Oklahoma State University
  • Heather Eicher-Miller, PhD, Purdue University
  • Teresa Fung, ScD, RD, Simmons University
  • Christopher Gardner, PhD, Stanford University 
  • Cristina Palacios, PhD, MSc, Florida International University
  • Angela Odoms-Young, PhD, MS, Cornell University
  • Hollie Raynor, PhD, RD, LDN, University of Tennessee Knoxville
  • Fatima Cody Stanford, MD, MPH, MPA, MBA, Harvard University
  • Sameera Talegawkar, PhD, The George Washington University 
  • Christopher Taylor, PhD, RDN, LD, The Ohio State University
  • Deirdre Tobias, ScD, Harvard University

About the American Society for Nutrition (ASN)

ASN is the preeminent professional organization for nutrition research scientists and clinicians around the world. Founded in 1928, the society brings together the top nutrition researchers, medical practitioners, policy makers and industry leaders to advance our knowledge and application of nutrition. ASN publishes four peer-reviewed journals and provides education and professional development opportunities to advance nutrition research, practice, and education. Since 2018, the American Society of Nutrition has presented NUTRITION, the leading global annual meeting for nutrition professionals.