Top researchers, clinicians and educators will be recognized for their outstanding contributions virtually this year during NUTRITION 2022 LIVE ONLINE

Rockville, MD (April 12, 2022) – The American Society for Nutrition (ASN) and the ASN Foundation are proud to announce the 2022 recipients of its scientific achievement awards.

“Once again, we are inspired by our extraordinary members who have taken great strides to advance our field during these unprecedented times,” stated Paul Coates, PhD, ASN President. “We are awed by your perseverance and delighted to celebrate your accomplishments.”

“The ASN Foundation’s growing awards program recognizes outstanding contributions from the global nutrition community,” said Catherine E. Woteki, PhD, Chair, ASN Foundation Board of Trustees. “We commend this year’s honorees for their outstanding achievements and applaud their efforts dedicated to nutrition science.”

As previously announced last fall, due to ongoing COVID-19 concerns and uncertainty around travel restrictions, the ASN Board of Directors made the proactive decision to host its annual meeting as an interactive, engaging, and safe virtual event: NUTRITION 2022 LIVE ONLINE, June 14-16.

ASN will celebrate the 2022 award winners virtually leading up to and during NUTRITION 2022 LIVE ONLINE. Connect with ASN across all social media platforms to stay up to date on all festivities surrounding the world’s largest online gathering of nutrition professionals #NutritionLiveOnline.

Senior Investigator Awards

ASN Nutritional Sciences Award
Aline Andres, PhD, RD, Arkansas Children’s Nutrition Center and University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Conrad A Elvehjem Award for Public Service in Nutrition
Supported by Mondelēz International
A. Catharine Ross, PhD, Penn State University

David Kritchevsky Career Achievement Award
Supported by Mondelēz International
Paul M. Coates, PhD, Adjunct Professor, Department of Applied Health Science, Indiana University School of Public Health

E. V. McCollum Award
David Jenkins, MD, PhD, DSc, University of Toronto

General Mills Bell Institute of Health and Nutrition Innovation Award
Endowed by the General Mills Bell Institute of Health and Nutrition
Carol Boushey, PhD, MPH, RD, University of Hawaii

Mary Swartz Rose Senior Investigator Award
Supported by the Council for Responsible Nutrition
IAFNS Ad Hoc Working Group on a Framework For Developing Recommended Intakes Of Bioactive Dietary Substances:
Allison Yates, PhD, RD, Agricultural Research Service/USDA (Retired)
Johanna Dwyer, DSc, RD, Tufts University School of Medicine and Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging at Tufts University, Tufts Medical Center
John Erdman, Jr., PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Janet King, PhD, University of California, Berkeley
Barbara Lyle, PhD, Lyle, Inc., and Northwestern University, School of Professional Studies
Barbara Schneeman, PhD, University of California, Davis
Connie Weaver, PhD, San Diego State University

McCormick Science Institute Research Award
Endowed by the McCormick Science Institute
M. N. V. Ravi Kumar, PhD, The University of Alabama

Osborne and Mendel Award
Supported by the Institute for the Advancement of Food and Nutrition Sciences (IAFNS)
Jesse Gregory, III, PhD, University of Florida

Robert H Herman Memorial Award
Mariëlle PKJ Engelen, PhD, Center for Translational Research in Aging & Longevity, Department of Health & Kinesiology, Texas A&M University

Senior Investigator Lectureships

E. V. McCollum International Lectureships in Nutrition Award
Endowed by the EV McCollum International Lectureship Endowment Fund
Rosalind Gibson, PhD, University of Otago, New Zealand

George Bray Outstanding Scientific Achievements Award in Obesity Research
Endowed by Dr. George A. Bray and his wife, Marilyn M. Bray
Gary Foster, PhD, WW International, New York

Jean-Pierre Habicht Lifetime Achievements in Global Nutrition Award
Supported by donors of the Jean-Pierre Habicht Lifetime Achievement in Global Nutrition Research Award Fund
Edward Frongillo, Jr., PhD, University of South Carolina

Robert Suskind and Leslie Lewinter-Suskind Pediatric Nutrition Lifetime
Achievement Award 

Endowed by Dr. Robert Suskind and his wife, Leslie Lewinter-Suskind
Zulfiqar Bhutta, PhD, Centre for Global Child Health, Toronto and Aga Khan University, Pakistan

W.O. Atwater Memorial Lecturer
Sponsored and administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture Agricultural Research Service
Alice H. Lichtenstein, DSc, Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging, Tufts University

Senior Investigator Educator & Mentor Awards

ASN Foundation Mentorship Award
Paul Jacques, ScD, Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging, Tufts University

Excellence in Nutrition Education Award
Supported by Nestlé Nutrition Institute
Edward Saltzman, MD, Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy at Tufts University

Roland L Weinsier Award for Excellence in Medical/Dental Nutrition Education
Christopher Duggan, MD, MPH, Boston Children’s Hospital

Mid-Career Awards

Nevin Scrimshaw Mid-Career Award in Global Nutrition
Supported by the Sight and Life Foundation and contributions from ASN’s Global Nutrition Council members
Christine Stewart, PhD, MPH, University of California, Davis

Young Investigator Awards

Bio-Serv Award in Experimental Animal Nutrition
Supported by Bio-Serv, Inc.
Emily Noble, PhD, University of Georgia

E.L.R. Stokstad Award
Endowed by the Stokstad Family
Henrik M. Roager, PhD, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Mary Swartz Rose Young Investigator Award
Supported by Council for Responsible Nutrition
Paul A. Spagnuolo, PhD, University of Guelph, Canada

Mead Johnson Award
Endowed by Mead Johnson Pediatric Nutrition Institute
Courtney Peterson, PhD, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Norman Kretchmer Memorial Award in Nutrition and Development
Sera L. Young, MA, PhD, Northwestern University

Peter J Reeds Young Investigator Award
Jacob Allen, PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Samuel J. Fomon Young Physician Award
Endowed by Nestlé Nutrition Institute
Haifa Mtaweh, MD, PhD, University of Toronto, Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation

Vernon Young International Award for Amino Acid Research
Endowed by Ajinomoto Health & Nutrition North America, Inc.
Sailendra Nichenametla, DVM, PhD, Orentreich Foundation for the Advancement of Science, Cold Spring, NY

Scholarships and Fellowships

Ajinomoto Young Investigator Pilot Grant
Supported by Ajinomoto Health & Nutrition North America, Inc.
Shannon Galyean, PhD, RDN, LD, Texas Tech University

ASN Predoctoral Fellowship: Mars, Inc. Predoctoral Fellowship
Supported by Mars, Inc.
Emily Hanselman, MS, RD, Rutgers University

ASN Predoctoral Fellowship: The Gerber Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship
Endowed by The Gerber Foundation
Lynn Ferro, University of Delaware

Herbalife Nutrition Scholarship
Supported by Herbalife Nutrition
Samantha Fessler, MS, Arizona State University

Additional Awards

ASN Industry Recognition Award
Gregory D. Miller, PhD, National Dairy Council

ASN Volunteer of the Year Award
Awarded to the Co-Chairs of ASN’s Nutrition Research Task Force in recognition of their leadership on ASN’s Nutrition Research Task Force and completion of the report, Valuing the Diversity of Research Methods to Advance Nutrition Science
Richard Mattes, MPH, PhD, RD, Purdue University
Sylvia B. Rowe, SR Strategy

Korean Nutrition Society (KNS) Award
Johanna Lampe, PhD, RD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Milton L. Sunde Award
Endowed by the Sunde family
Roger Sunde, PhD, University of Wisconsin – Madison