Top researchers, clinicians and educators will be recognized for their outstanding contributions virtually this year during NUTRITION 2020 LIVE ONLINE and next year at Nutrition 2021 in Boston

The American Society for Nutrition (ASN) and the ASN Foundation are proud to announce the 2020 recipients of its scientific achievement awards.

“Now, more than ever, we need to remain connected and celebrate the significant achievements in our field. The 2020 ASN award recipients are an esteemed group of scientists whose contributions, mentorship and dedication to advancing nutrition research, education and practice are exemplary and inspiring,” stated ASN President, Richard D. Mattes, PhD, MPH, RD.

As previously announced, Nutrition 2020 will not be held May 30-June 2, 2020, in Seattle, Washington as scheduled due to the impacts of COVID 19. The ASN Foundation is committed to delivering som e of the content and connection virtually including honoring these award winners with NUTRITION 2020 LIVE ONLINE. Connect with us on our social platforms as we honor all award winners leading up to the virtual event. The following leaders will be lauded at the Society’s flagship meeting, Nutrition 2021 in Boston July 10-13, 2021.

Senior Investigator Awards

ASN Foundation Mentorship Award: Barbara J. Rolls, PhD, The Pennsylvania State University

ASN Nutritional Sciences Award: David B. Allison, PhD, Indiana University School of Public Health, Bloomington

Conrad A. Elvehjem Award for Public Service in Nutrition, Supported by Mondelēz International: Barbara O. Schneeman, PhD, University of California, Davis

David Kritchevsky Career Achievement Award in Nutrition, Supported by Mondelēz International: David M. Klurfeld , PhD, USDA Agricultural Research Service

E.V. McCollum Award: Christos S. Mantzoros, MD, DSc, Harvard Medical School

E. V. McCollum International Lectureships in Nutrition Award: Edward A. Frongillo, Jr., PhD, University of South Carolina

Excellence in Nutrition Education Award,Supported by the Nestlé Nutrition Institute: Martin Kohlmeier, MD, PhD, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health

General Mills Bell Institute of Health and Nutrition Innovation Award, Endowed by the General Mills Bell Institute of Human Health & Nutrition: Jill Reedy, PhD, MPH, RD, National Cancer Institute

Kellogg Prize for Lifetime Achievements in International Nutrition Supported by Kellogg Company: Raf ael Pérez-Escamilla, PhD, Yale School of Public Health

Mary Swartz Rose Senior Investigator Award, Supported by the Council for Responsible Nutrition: Charles Brenner, PhD, University of Iowa

McCormick Science Institute Research Award, Endowed by the McCormick Science Institute: Zhaoping Li, MD, PhD, UCLA Center for Human Nutrition

Osborne and Mendel Award, Supported by ILSI North America: John R. Speakman, PhD , Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing and University of Aberdeen, Scotland

Robert H. Herman Memorial Award: Thomas M.S. Wolever, MD, PhD, University of Toronto and INQUIS Clinical Research, Ltd.

Robert Suskind and Leslie Lewinter-Suskind Pediatric Nutrition Lifetime Achievement Award, Endowed by Robert Suskind and Leslie Lewinter-Suskind: Virginia Stallings, MD , Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia  

Roland L Weinsier Award for Excellence in Medical/Dental Nutrition Education: Teresa A. Marshall, PhD, RDN/LDN, FAND, Department of Preventive and Community Dentistry, College of Dentistry, University of Iowa

Mid-Career Awards 

Nevin Scrimshaw Mid-Career Award in Global Nutrition, Supported by the Sight and Life Foundation: Purnima Menon, PhD , International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)

Young Investigator Awards 

Bio-Serv Award in Experimental Animal Nutrition, Supported by Bio-Serv Inc.: Vishal Singh, PhD, The Pennsylvania State University

E.L.R. Stokstad Award, Endowed by the Stokstad Family: Kyla Shea, PhD , Tufts University USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging

Mary Swartz Rose Young Investigator Award, Supported by the Council for Responsible Nutrition: Jaume Amengual, PhD, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign

Mead Johnson Award, Endowed by Mead Johnson Pediatric Nutrition Institute: Andrew W. Brown, PhD , Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington

Norman Kretchmer Memorial Award in Nutrition and Development: Saurabh Mehta, ScD, MBBS, Cornell University

Peter J. Reeds Young Investigator Award: Laura W. Bowers, PhD, RD, Purdue University

Samuel J Fomon Young Physician Award, Endowed by the Nestlé Nutrition Institute: Dale Young Lee, MD, MSCE, Seattle Children’s Hospital; University of Washington

Vernon R. Young International Award for Amino Acid Research, Endowed by the Ajinomoto Co. Inc.: Domenico Tricò, MD, University of Pisa

Scholarships and Fellowships

ASN Predoctoral Fellowship: Mars, Inc. Predoctoral Fellowship, Supported by Mars, Inc.: Bryant Keirns, MS, Oklahoma State University

ASN Predoctoral Fellowship: The Gerber Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship, Endowed by the Gerber Foundation: Kaitlyn Harper, MA, MSc, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Herbalife Nutrition Scholarship, Supported by Herbalife Nutrition: Katie Ellison, MS, RDN, LDN, The University of Alabama at Birmingham

Science Policy Fellowships Lyndsey D. Ruiz, University of California, Davis Matthew J. Landry, PhD, The University of Texas at Austin

Other Awards

Ajinomoto Young Investigator Pilot Grant, Supported by Ajinomoto Health & Nutrition North America, Inc.: Shannon Galyean, PhD, RDN, LD, Texas Tech University

Dennis Bier, MD Young Career Editor for The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, Supported by Ajinomoto Health & Nutrition North America, Inc., Pfizer, Inc. and individual ASN members: Kevin C. Klatt, PhD, RD, Baylor College of Medicine

Korean Nutrition Society (KNS) Award: Naima Moustaid-Moussa, PhD, Texas Tech University

Milton L. Sunde Award, Endowed by the Sunde Family: Philipp Hofmann, MS, Institute of Animal Science, Department of Animal Nutrition, University of Hohenheim, Stuttgart, Germany

ASN’s Understanding Nutritional Science Video Competition: Erin Frost, Maria Koleilat, and Paul Inventadoz for their video, “Mobile Application for weight loss after childbirth”